W…W…W…Wednesdays – July 21st, 2010

W…W…W…Wednesdays is a weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading? I’m currently reading The Telling of Lies by Timothy Findley. Findley is my favorite author by a long shot. I took refuge in this book after a traumatizing run-in with a Leonard Cohen book earlier this week. You can read all about that incident here.

What did you recently finish reading? I finished up I Do Not Come to You by Chance by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani over the weekend. Nwaubani’s debut novel won the Commonwealth Writers Prize for best first novel in the Africa category this year. It was an interesting book, but far from what I was hoping it would be. I posted a review for it yesterday.

What do you think you’ll read next? Just glancing quickly at my TBR pile, I think my next read will likely be A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith. Last year sometime, I had started hearing rumors about the merits of Australian Fiction. I asked an Aussie friend of mine to suggest some good Australian reads to me and this one was at the top of the list. It is a bit of a chunkster, so I have been putting it off. I don’t know if I can put it off much longer though; it appears that the chunksters are starting to take over the TBR pile.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Memes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to W…W…W…Wednesdays – July 21st, 2010

  1. Darlyn says:

    Hi Robbie! I Do Not Come to You by Chance sounds very interesting. And I have to admit, I never heard about the books. Glad you are sharing!

    here’s mine;

    http://darlynandbooks.blogspot.com/2010/07/www-wo-wednesday-1.html

    happy reading!

  2. Aimee says:

    Great picks, I haven’t heard of any of these but they sound great! Enjoy! My WWW is here.

  3. Aleksandra says:

    Haven’t read any of those books!
    Here’s my WWW: http://my-book-obsession.blogspot.com/2010/07/www-wednesdays-17.html
    Happy reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

