Monday Musings – July 26, 2010

This week’s musing asks…

Do you review books? If so, for who?

If not, have you ever thought about doing so? Why, or why not?

Unfortunately, the only books I review are my own personal copies for my book blog. I would love very much to review books from publishers, because I have an unprecedented amount of spare time on my hands. As it is, however, my blog has only been online for a month now and I suspect I don’t have a long enough track record to merit the attention of any publishers just yet. I imagine that living in Croatia would also be a hindrance to my receiving any books from publishers. I don’t suppose they are going to want to send me anything all the way over here. That said, I should be returning to live in Canada next year and perhaps then I will be in a better position to accept books for review. I look forward to that opportunity!!

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Monday Musings – July 26, 2010

  1. Good luck to you!

    Here is my post!

  2. hey, welcome to Musing Monday!
    yes, it may not be fair, but most publishers are most likely not going too ship too far. It is all about the money at some point.

  3. MizB says:

    Hi, Robbie! Thanks so much for playing along in Musing Mondays! And, i love the title of your blog! 🙂

    To make a “proper” link, you do what you already did (probably putting , with / a > at the end — had to add spaces here so it’ll show up…hopefully!), but instead of copying and pasting your link after the ” “> and before the closing /a >, you write what words you want to show up… for example: Musing Mondays. 😉

    So it’d be more like this (without the spaces):
    Musing Mondays

    If none of that shows up — or not properly, be sure to write me an email at mizbooks [at] gmail [dot] com. 😀

  4. MizB says:

    LOL. Yep, you’ll have to write me, ’cause that didn’t work the way I’d hoped (it still turned it all into a link, despite me adding a ton of spaces to it all!) Oh well.

    MizB

  5. MizB says:

    Okay… sorry to bombard your comments section, but hopefully this will be my last try! LOL.

    I found that using the square brackets here –for example purposes only (instead of the pointy ones)– works better. But when you do the actual link, you should use the pointy ones, obviously:

    Write your link like this…

    [a href=”(your link here)”] Musing Mondays [/a]

    ((where it says Musing Mondays, you could put whatever you’re linking to — you could put Come see my blog! between the “] and [“/a] and that’s what would show up.))

    Hopefully that all makes sense!
    MizB

  6. Bluestocking says:

    Just give it time. Here is mine

    Here’s how to link.

    title of post

  7. Kristin says:

    Give it time…you never know what might happen.

    Here is my musing.

  8. Lori says:

    I do review books but I am no professional. Here is Mine

  9. Welcome, Robbie, and never fear! You’ll probably still get some requests. I started getting them after I’d been blogging awhile (and after I put a Review Policy on my blogs).
    BTW, love the name and look of your blog! Enjoy!!

    Here’s my musing:

    http://meditationsbylaurelrain.wordpress.com/2010/07/26/musing-mondays-do-you-review/

  10. Anne says:

    I don’t think your location will be an issue. It’s the passion that counts. Here’s mine: http://enyascloset.blogspot.com/2010/07/musing-mondays-july-26.html.

  11. Robbie says:

    (a href=https://pinksheepcafe.wordpress.com/2010/07/26/monday-musings-july-26-2010/) Musing Mondays (/a)

Leave a Reply

