W…W…W…Wednesdays – July 28, 2010

W…W…W…Wednesdays is a weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading? Yesterday I started A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith. I was surprised when I started to research Betty Smith, because I could have sworn that this book was recommended to me by an Aussie friend of mine as a great example of Australian Literature. As it turns out, there is nothing the least bit Australian about Smith, who was born, lived and died in the United States. I also thought the book was recently published, but now I see it is copyright 1943. Not that any of this deters me from reading the book, I am still very much looking forward to it, but it is yet another reminder that I need to pay more attention to books before I slip them into my book bag at Chapters. 😀

What did you recently finish reading? I just finished up a non-fiction book yesterday, The Yugo: The Rise and Fall of the Worst Car in History by Jason Vuic. I don’t read a great deal of non-fiction, but this one caught my eye. Living in the former Yugoslavia with my Croatian boyfriend, I had no choice but to pick up this book when I saw it. The Yugo is an historical icon and a symbol of a former identity for Croatians and as such is looked upon quite favorably. Such is not the case outside of the Balkans. This was a fascinating read that outlined the failure of a communist built car in a capitalist country during the Cold War.  I hope to have a review up on Friday.

What do you think you’ll read next? The book I am reading now is borderline chunkster, so I think I will probably opt for something a bit shorter after I am through. I am thinking about Nikolski by Nicolas Dickner.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Memes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to W…W…W…Wednesdays – July 28, 2010

  1. Anne says:

    I can’t wait for your review on The Yugo: The Rise and Fall of the Worst Car in History. What made it the worst car in history? Hmmm…

    Here’s my WWW.

  2. Enjoy your books. Wanted to stop by to let you see that your permalink worked!!!!
    Good for you. My WWW is posted here.
    CMash

Leave a Reply

