W…W…W…Wednesday – August 4, 2010

W…W…W…Wednesdays is a weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading? I’m just finishing up A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith. I somehow got sidetracked in the middle of this novel and went on to another book. I’m not really sure why, because it is a wonderful story. Anyway, it’s ended up taking me a couple days longer than usual to get through it. This is turning out to be a beautiful coming-of-age story with some of the most enchanting characters I have encountered to date. I wouldn’t be surprised if Francie Nolan becomes my new favorite literary character.

What did you recently finish reading? I just finished reading The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. This was the book that somehow lulled me away from my Betty Smith novel. I am not in the habit of reading multiple books at a time, but this just sort of happened by accident. Fitzgerald’s novella will certainly be a classic that I look on favorably in the future, if for no other reason than it was short. Look for a review on Friday.

What do you think you’ll read next? My next read is going to be Promoting Reading in Developing Countries by the International Reading Association. While it doesn’t sound like the most exciting title, I am really looking forward to it. This will be my first read for the August Social Justice Challenge on Illiteracy and Education. This will also be the first challenge I have taken part in, so I am really excited.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Memes, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to W…W…W…Wednesday – August 4, 2010

  1. Kristin says:

    Love The Great Gatsby!!! Read it in high school and really need to read it again some day soon. The Promoting Reading book sounds really interesting – looking forward to seeing your review on it.

    Here’s my WWW.

  2. jess says:

    Haven’t read any of these — except maybe Gatsby in HS. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

