W…W…W…Wednesdays – August 11, 2010

W…W…W…Wednesdays is a weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading? Yesterday I started Parrot and Olivier in America by Peter Carey. The book has been shortlisted for the 2010 Man Booker Prize. Unfortunately, it is the only nominee I happen to be in possession of. I am eager to get this one read before the short list is announced in a few weeks.

What did you recently finish reading? I just finished Promoting Reading in Developing Countries by the International Reading Association. This is the first of my reads for the August Social Justice Challenge. The book is a collection of academic articles published in 1996 that provides “views on making reading materials accessible to increase literacy levels” in the developing world. I was expecting this to be horribly dull, and in some parts it was, but for the most part, I found it to be a very engaging read. I enjoyed learning about the difficulties faced in implementing reading programs and establishing libraries all over Africa, Asia and Latin America. Look for my review next week.

What do you think you’ll read next? Well, I certainly hope that I am reading something else for the Social Justice Challenge. I would have launched into another one of my chosen books for the challenge, but none of the others have arrived yet 😦 If none of them arrive by the time I get through with Peter Carey, then I imagine I will start into Nikolski by Nicolas Dickner.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Memes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

