Thursday 13 – August 12, 2010

Thursday 13

The purpose of this meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. You can find the unofficial Thursday 13 page here.

My 13 most cherished Pet Peeves

1. Bloggers who don’t proof read before posts!

2. People who, in a public washroom, sit down in the stall next to mine when there are a half-a-dozen other empty stalls.

3. People who believe that by leaving the last piece of toilet paper hanging on the roll they are somehow justified in not changing it.

4. Bloggers who only allow readers to see snippets of their posts in Google Reader.

5. People who stop at yield signs and WAIT for traffic to clear when there is a merge lane right in front of them.

6. Folks who write introductions or forwards for novels and include spoilers.

7. Anytime Team USA beats Team Canada…especially in the instance of Hockey Gold.

8. Tom Cruise

9. People who think Jay Leno is funnier than David Letterman

10. People who speak as though profanity IS their language.

11. My internet going out

12. People who preach their religion to me.

13. People who dis Timothy Findley the greatest writer of modern times.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Memes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thursday 13 – August 12, 2010

  1. Nicole says:

    Great list, though I have been guilty of number at least a few times. LOL. Number 6 is the reason why I don’t read introductions or forewords ever. They see to think it’s their duty to explain the whole book for you and tell you what to think at the same time.

  2. Jessica says:

    Hmmm…I agree with about 95% of these. Are you in my head? I have some real problems with people driving ridiculously. Also, I hate excerpted posts in Google Reader. But I’m from the USA – so we diverge there. And I’m ambivalent about Tom Cruise and preachy people. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  3. Julie says:

    We have many similar pet peeves -and I need to start proofing my blog posts 🙂

  4. Fiona says:

    Hah at Tom Cruise. Oh dear I’m a bit guilty of the first – it isn’t that I don’t proof read, it’s just that I’m a really bad at it. I don’t see the mistakes until AFTER I publish and then I have to rush around correcting my overuse of bad grammar and repetitions of words.

Leave a Reply

