55 Quirky Questions for Readers – Part 1 of 5

This questionnaire was put together by Lydia over at the Literary Lollipop. In desperate need of something to post on Sundays I have stolen it (what? what do you mean she’s giving it away?) Like so many other lazy bloggers who have been breaking this up into several parts to fill their Sundays, I will, shamelessly, do likewise.

1. Favourite childhood book: I am trying to recall some of the books that my parents read me as a child and all I seem to be able to recall are The Cat and the Hat and Green Eggs and Ham. Both of which I like, but I don’t know that they were favorites. When I was in perhaps grade 3, I remember reading a book called Afternoon of the Elves by Janet Taylor Lisle. For the life of me I cannot remember what the books is about, but I remember loving it. It has gone on to my TBBought list for my up and coming YA month.

2. What are you reading right now? I am very patiently trying to slog my way through Parrot and Olivier in America by Peter Carey. I am having a very tough go of it, but I am determined not to put it back on the shelf unfinished.

3. What books do you have on request at the library? I am a bit embarrassed to admit…I don’t use the library. I know, I know…bad Robbie!!

4. Bad book habit: Not really paying close enough attention to a book when I put it in my basket at the bookstore. I get more unintended (and sometimes disappointing) books this way.

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library? I think I have a copy of Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? that was checked out in 1992, but I’m not sure on that one.

6. Do you have an e-reader? Not on purpose. My boyfriend has an iPad. I have experimented with e-books on it, but they don’t seem to really do it for me. I need to feel the paper and be able to flip back and forth with ease.

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once? I had always been opposed to reading more than one book at a time, but as I found I am encountering some terribly dull and long reads that I am determined to finish, I am seeing there is a need to break them up into chunks and read some other shorter books at the same time.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog? This is perhaps most interesting for me, as I have only been blogging for a month and a half now. I do find that I am paying more attention to the length of potential reads. Most of the books I gravitate towards have a tendency to be a bit on the chunky side (i.e. 500 pages or more) so I have been consciously seeking out shorter reads to create some sort of balance. I always like to have something to review. More than anything though, I find that reading OTHER book blogs has changed my reading habits/interests.

9.Least favourite book you read this year: Waiting for Columbus by Thomas Troffimuk. I didn’t review this one, as I read it long before I began my blog. A word to the wise, if this one is sitting on your TBR pile…send it back!

10. Favourite book I’ve read this year: Hmm…I’m not going to answer this one, because I am sending the book to Ulrike over at The Bookkeeper as part of theCrazy Book Swap being hosted by Wallace at Unputdownables. I don’t want to spoil the surprise.

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone? Before I started blogging, I would have said absolutely nil. Now I am starting to venture out, but I couldn’t really give any sort of number. It’s not a lot yet, but I want to increase it.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Memes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 55 Quirky Questions for Readers – Part 1 of 5

  1. Wallace says:

    #5 — I’m totally laughing about this one. You’re a library book stealer!

    #6 — Ah! Do you play with it all the time? If my boyfriend had one (or, ahem, if I had a boyfriend at all) I would steal it to play with always. I actually don’t know anyone who has one believe it or not, and I live in the city of “must have everything new.”

    #8 — I’ve been reading a lot of these lately too, so had to put one down recently so I could read a couple of shorter ones and actually feel like I was finishing books.

    #10 — Can’t wait to find out what it is!

    Fun reading these. 🙂

  2. rikkiscraps says:

    Ah, ok, so this was even your favourite book this year. I think I’ll have to add it to my September reading list then.

    When I was a kid I unfortunately didn’t know about Dr. Seuss. Thank God I do now. I loveGreen Eggs and ham, but I think my fav Dr. Seuss books are Fox in Socks (for the great ending) and The Lorax. Every kid should read The Lorax.

  3. Robbie says:

    Oh, it’s prob even up there as one of the all time favorites Rikki!!

Leave a Reply

