W…W…W…Wednesdays – August 18, 2010

W…W…W…Wednesdays is a weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading? This has been a pitiful week for reading for me. We have been very busy traveling all over the country, to Hvar at the end of last week and to Zagreb and Istra the past couple of days. On top of that Parrot and Olivier in America by Peter Carey has not turned out to be as exciting as I had hoped. I am having a tough time getting through it. I am about half way now. Hopefully by next week I will be finished. I have also started The Blue Notebook by James Levine. This is the third book for the August Social Justice Challenge on Illiteracy and Education. I am hoping that reading this will help break up the Peter Carey book for me.

What did you recently finish reading? The only thing new I read last week was Nasreen’s Secret School by Jeanette Winter. This is a wonderful children’s book about a little girl in Afghanistan whose Grandmother finds a way to send her to school amidst the chaos. This book was another for the Social Justice Challenge. I plan to have the review posted on Friday. In addition, I posted a review yesterday for Promoting Reading in Developing Countries by the International Reading Association.

What do you think you’ll read next? My goal for August is to get through the above books as well as the last remaining book for the Social Justice Challenge, Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Memes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to W…W…W…Wednesdays – August 18, 2010

  1. Anne says:

    The Social Justice Challenge sounds really good. Who’s hosting it?

    My WWW.

  2. Robbie says:

    It’s being hosted by Mawbooks Anne, but she has set up a seperate site for it. You can find it here.

  3. Anna Lee says:

    Here is our WWW Wednesday for Romancing the page! 4 of our editors contributed this week!

    WWW RTP Style

  4. I just finished reading The Mockingbirds and I’ll probably start in on Jane next!

    Oh, and I tried to reply to your comment on my blog, but it’s not linked to your email–so anyway, I wanted to tell you that the really cool thing about THE DUFF is that while the MC does deal with having been referred to as a duff, and what it does to her psyche, the book itself doesn’t have that “mean girls” thing going on. The mc actually has really supportive friends. I think the main issue is more internal as well as the problems she has at home and how she deals with it all by hooking up with the guy who actually first called her a duff. So don’t worry. Not really any mean girls in this, at least not in a way the mc has to deal with them.

Leave a Reply

