Book Blogger Hop

The Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Jennifer over at Crazy For Books

THIS IS MY FIRST BOOK BLOGGER HOP

This week the question asks: How many blogs do you follow?

Taking a quick glance at Google Reader, I currently follow 118 blogs. I am constantly reviewing that number though. I am always adding new blogs and likewise I am removing blogs too. If I find that I am constantly skipping over posts for a certain blog and am just not interested in the content (even if it’s a book blog) I don’t hesitate to stop following it. Probably 80% of the blogs that I follow are literature related and the others are a mixture of my other interests, especially genealogy. I try and get through all the new content everyday, but lots of times that is simply not possible. Also, as I mentioned, I don’t hesitate to pass on by something if it doesn’t really interest me.  For example, I’ve really become sick of reading book reviews on YA Vampire novels. If I see one….I just wizz right by and continue on my merry way. I have been making a conscious effort to comment on more blogs, but I really only comment if I have something to say…I don’t like filling up other peoples comment sections just to publicize my own blog.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Memes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Book Blogger Hop

  1. Hey Robbie,

    Just stoppping by to welcome you to Hop! Lovely blog you have here! sure to stop voer some other time too! Have a lovely weekend and Happy Reading!

    Til next time,
    Lisa (Badass Bookie)
    http://badassbookie.blogspot.com/

  2. Daisy says:

    Just hopping by 🙂
    First off, let me say I LOVE your banner!!
    I really enjoy YA, but like you I’m not really into all the vampire stuff.

  3. Donna says:

    Hi Robbie – visiting from the HOP – welcome! I would think Croatia would be a very interesting place to live. I am going to look back on your blog and see if you say much about it.

    Hope you can come by for a visit at LibrarysCat Book List or my more specialized blog Holocaust Resources.

    Have a great weekend.

  4. Anne says:

    I’m on my first Friday Blog Hop. So I hopped over to yours. Tag, your it!
    -Anne
    http://headfullofbooks.blogspot.com

  5. Alley says:

    Stopping by from the hop. I agree that when I see YA Vampire reviews on a book blog I move right on.

  6. Hello, Robbie, I’m stopping by on the blog hop. I follow more blogs than is reasonable, but it’s manageable with Google Reader. How did you end up in such wildly different places? Stop by Bibliophiliac if you get a chance. Right now I’m reading Nashville Chrome by Rick Bass, and starting Dostoyevsky (revisiting The Idiot)….

  7. Rachel says:

    Just stopping by via the hop. Have a great weekend and happy reading!

    Rachel
    And the plot thickens…

  8. Fiona says:

    Hi Robbie, I’m not hopping over as part of the blog hop as I’m too lazy to do that any more. Hehe.

    I follow only 37 blogs which seems such a small amount compared to others. I have only been blogging for 3 months and also, there is no way I can even read every blog post from these 37 blogs to the fullest degree. I use feedreader to follow blogs because I find it easier then Google Reader. I get a notification popping up in my tray whenever a new blog post has come in so I find that more useful then reading them in bulk.

    I rarely actively go out searching for new book blogs to read (and 99% of the blogs I follow are book related) but I like to find them through other blogs and things oh and of course twitter.

    I do try to comment as much as I can but know I don’t comment as much as I should. Like you I feel that my comment should be worth something and not just wallpaper, although a quick hello is I admit very nice, just to let someone know you are reading.

    I like to put some effort into comments and so of course there is no way I can do this with every blog post otherwise I’d be sat here all day and get zero reading done.

    I tend to reply to review posts if I have already read the book, or if they are my favourite author or a book I’ve been really wanting to read. I’ve been using blogs a lot recently for Japanese book recommendations so come to think of it I’m more likely to reply to those reviews. But generally I reply mostly to non-review blog posts.

    P.S I’m sick of vampire novels YA or not as well. Zzzzzzzz too many of them. So I rarely follow a blog if I see they read a lot of vampy fiction. I like blogs that review a variety and not just one genre all the time.

  9. jvoss says:

    Howdy! Found you via the Hop.

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!
    http://www.primoreads.com/

  10. Elizabeth says:

    Cute site..love the name of your blog.

Leave a Reply

