55 Quirky Questions for Readers – Part 2 of 5

This questionnaire was put together by Lydia over at the Literary Lollipop. In desperate need of something to post on Sundays I have stolen it (what? what do you mean she’s giving it away?) Like so many other lazy bloggers who have been breaking this up into several parts to fill their Sundays, I will, shamelessly, do likewise. This is part two of five.

12. What is your reading comfort zone? Fiction with a basis in reality. So no Science Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, over the top Thrillers, etc. Also, I tend to avoid authors who publish at a rate of a gazillion books every couple of years, because I find the quality is lacking.

13. Can you read on the bus? Depends on what the road is like. If it’s smooth, probably…if it’s not, BARF!

14. Favourite place to read: Every morning, my boyfriend and I go to Cukarin (Su-ka-reen) a local cafe. I always have a bečki cappuccino (cappuccino with a big dollop of frozen cream on top) and totally get lost in whatever I am reading.

15. What’s your policy on book lending? Living in Croatia, I don’t have so many people banging down my door to get to my bookshelves. I am certainly willing to lend out books though…provided there is a high probability of getting the book back. (I am really possessive about books…this is also why I don’t use the library)

16. Do you dogear your books? It’s funny, I used to really hate this. Up until the end of university, dogears used to drive me nuts. I thought people were crazy to treat their books with such disrespect. Eventually the time came though when I had no choice but to begin taking highlighters to my textbooks. From that point on I no longer had an argument against the dogear folks whose book torture now seems so tame compared to my own.

17. Do you write notes in the margins of your books? I haven’t as of yet. If I have the iPad handy then I will make notes on it. Often if I don’t have paper handy or a computer to make notes on, I often let the note go unrecorded and this is becoming something of a problem for me. I need to buy some pencils and start jotting notes in the margins.

18. Do you break/crack the spine of your books? Not intentionally. What happens, happens in the course of reading a book.

19. What is your favourite language to read? English is the only language in which I am fluent. I sometimes like to pick up a French text and try to battle my way through it.

20. What makes you love a book? The degree to which I end up loving a book is directly proportional to the number of times the book sends me into a day dream involving its content, multiplied by the depth of those daydreams.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book? These questions are starting to get a bit too deep for me. Geez! Umm…I dunno. See the previous answer…if I love the book in the above fashion then I am likely to recommend the book.

22. Favourite genre: Historical Fiction

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 55 Quirky Questions for Readers – Part 2 of 5

  1. Fiona says:

    Oh the suspense… when is part 3 coming out?

    I was never that bothered about decimating a text book with highlighters and pens but I would never dog ear a fiction book, that is I’m afraid…. painful. Although I do crease my spines a bit, that can’t be helped. And occasionally drop the odd crumb/s in it, or drop it in my dinner. Hmm.

  2. Great answers! Thanks for participating, I’m glad you’re having fun with the questions!
    It looks like the whole dog-earing thing is becoming quite the hot topic; I had no idea it was such a no-no. 🙂

  3. Julie says:

    I think I’m going to steal this from you 🙂 I love it!

  4. rikkiscraps says:

    Glad you are seeing reason now as far as dog earing is concerned. 🙂

    No. 19. Is it easy to get by without being fluent in Croatian?

  5. Robbie says:

    Yeah, it’s not too bad Rikki. I have been hear nearly a year a half now, so just listening to people helps. I took an introductory level course in Croatian, so that really helped with the basics. I am just so bad with languages. I am finding more and more I can at least understand what people are asking me. Croatian is far easier than French though, let me tell ya!!

Leave a Reply

