W…W…W…Wednesdays – August 24, 2010

W…W…W…Wednesdays is a weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading? Holy crap!! Somebody shoot me already! Will it never end? I am STILL reading Parrot and Olivier in America by Peter Carey. I have been reading some others at the same time and every time I pick this up to continue reading it I feel like I am drowning. I am hereby making a pledge…if I have not finished this book by next Wednesday, then I will give it up for good. Sound like a plan or what?

What did you recently finish reading? I just finished the Young Reader’s Edition of Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin. I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy this so much. I was worried I would feel that things were being simplified a bit too much for a younger audience. I occasionally felt that way, but for the most part I loved the book tremendously. I am sure there are bits and pieces that I missed out on not reading the original version, but I was still very moved by Mortenson’s story. This was my final book for the August Social Justice Challenge on Education and Illiteracy. Look for a review on Friday.

What do you think you’ll read next? I am really not sure about this. I am scared if I think about it too much that Parrot and Olivier in America will never end. If it does, however, then I have some options. I have been saying for weeks and weeks that I wanted to get to Nikolski by Nicolas Dickner which was the winner of the Canada Reads 2010 challenge. Room by Emma Donoghue just arrived in the mail the other day and it is long listed for the Man Booker. I would really like to get to it before the short list is announced in a couple of weeks. There is also the chance that my book for the Crazy Book Swap might arrive. I got paired up with Rikki from The Bookkeeper and I am really excited to find out what he’s sent for me. Whatever I choose, it will undoubtedly be better than what I am reading now!!

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Memes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to W…W…W…Wednesdays – August 24, 2010

  1. Audra says:

    Ooh, I’ve been eyeballing Parrot and Olivier in America but your comments make me a little nervous!! Is it unreadable because of writing? Plot? Something else?

    I’ll be curious to read your thoughts on Room; I’m a Donoghue fan but I think it might be a little too dark and twisted for my tastes.

    • Robbie says:

      It’s just one of those books where the story gets lost in the prose. I was really excited to read the book because it is a portrayal of Alexis de Tocqueville whom I studied in University. I know other bloggers that had given up on this same book, but I was determined to slug through it. Unfortunately, shortly after I wrote this post my patience was finally exasperated and I decided to move on. I was about 430 pages into it. Makes me sad to think about, but what’s a boy to do?

  2. Alayne says:

    Haha I’ve read another blogger who gave up on Parrot and Olivier. Looks like I’ll just stay clear of that one! My WWW is at The Crowded Leaf.

Leave a Reply

