55 Quirky Questions for Readers – Part 3 of 5

This questionnaire was put together by Lydia over at the Literary Lollipop. In desperate need of something to post on Sundays I have stolen it (what? what do you mean she’s giving it away?) Like so many other lazy bloggers who have been breaking this up into several parts to fill their Sundays, I will, shamelessly, do likewise. This is part three of five.

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did): None…if I wished I read it, I would be reading it.

24. Favourite Biography: OMGosh…I can’t remember the last biography I read. I read a bio of former Canadian Prime Minister Jean Chretien, but that was probably 10 years ago and I certainly wouldn’t want to say that was my favorite. Ooooooooh I know!! Even before that I read The Royals by Kitty Kelley. It gave all the dirt on Prince Charles and the Queen Mum and all those posh folks. That was probably my favorite.

25. Have you ever read a self-help book? (And, was it actually helpful?): I read The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren as a courtesy to a friend. I don’t know if this is considered self-help or not, but it has certainly helped me to avoid similar books.

26. Favourite Cookbook: I don’t really have one, but Home Cooking with Japan’s First Lady is sitting on my shelf waiting to be investigated.

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction): Probably the book I just finished reading, Promoting Reading in Developing Countries put out by the International Reading Association. I read this for the August Social Justice Challenge and hope to have the review up tomorrow.

28. Favourite reading snack: Tea! Well, perhaps not now with 40 degree heat every day, but certainly in the winter time.

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience: I honestly cannot think of anything at the moment. I’ll have to get back to you on this one.

30. How often do you agree with the critics about about a book? I never actually read the critics. The only critics that are really important to me are my fellow book bloggers.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews? Oh, psshh…if the book is bad, to heck with them. I have no qualms about posting negative review.

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you choose? Croatian perhaps, as it is the mother-tongue of my boyfriend. If not that, then Arabic.

33. Most intimidating book I’ve read: Hands down, The Secret World of Og by Pierre Burton…ok, not really. Umm…maybe War and Peace. Oh no wait…I didn’t read that. Maybe something by Wally Lamb. I’ve read all of his books and they are often immense chunksters. Perhaps I was intimidated by one of them at some point. I can’t say really.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Memes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 55 Quirky Questions for Readers – Part 3 of 5

  1. rikkiscraps says:

    Hey Robbie, did you copy my answer to no. 23, :)? I think I said the very same thing.
    Rikki

  2. Home Cooking by Japan’s First Lady sounds fascinating. Please will you let us know what it is like?

Leave a Reply

