New Rating System

I am pleased to announce that I have finally put together a rating system that I find satisfactory. It was far harder than I had expected it would be. Anyway…here it is, it’s pretty simple:

A Wool New Kind of Reading Experience – This book is phenominal, perhaps even life changing. This is what others describe as Unputdownable, A++++, WOW, Excellent, Must Read, etc., etc., etc. You will gush about this book at every opportunity.

Hard to Bleat – This is a truly amazing book with perhaps some minor flaws. You have no qualms about recommended it. After reading it you may experience any or all of the following:

A. Wanting to read all works by this author

B. Wishing you were best friends with the author

C. A need to talk incessantly about the story

Not Baaaaaaahd – This was a great book, but had several flaws that prevent it from being an amazing work of art. Certainly still recommendable. You are optimistic that your next experience with this author will be even better.

Meh – This book was overwhelmingly average. Depending on the individual experience, you may or may not give up on this author all together. You wouldn’t likely recommend this book to others and are likely to forget this reading experience sooner rather than later.

Pretty Baaaaaahd – Not a good read. Perhaps there was poor writing, lack of character development, painful prose, or an array of other crappy characteristics within the pages. You will not recommend this book to anyone.

Ain’t Worth Mutton – Don’t even talk to me about this book. Avoid it like the plague!! You wouldn’t recommend this book to your worst enemy.

DNF – I was not up to the challenge this book presented and was unable to finish it. Therefore, I am not qualified to give it any sort of definitive rating.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Rating System

  1. Kinna says:

    Robbie; this is a good rating system and quite well explained. I’ve been wrestling with mine for a while now, unsure about whether to keep it as is or to formulate a new one. I like your new one, especially the explanations. Yours will prove resourceful when I sit down to devise a new system for my review.

    • Robbie says:

      I kept putting it off and putting it off, I am glad it is finally done. I might still tweak it a little bit, I’m not sure. A rating system seems like it should be so easy to come up with, but it’s not easy coming up with something original and thought-out. It’s easy to have a five star system, but that is boring and pretty arbitrary I think. I am glad it is done though, I am hoping I might start attracting some publishers to send me ARCs.

Leave a Reply

