Book Blogger Hop – September 3-6, 2010

The Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Jennifer over at Crazy For Books

This week the question asks: Do you judge a book by its cover?

Answer: TOTALLY!! Well…ok, maybe not totally, but I love picking up books based on their covers. Sometimes, if the cover looks cool enough, I won’t even read what the book is about. I just go right ahead and stick it on my TBR pile. I am actually hoping to make that a feature on my blog in the future: Books on my TBR that I have picked up solely on the basis of the cover art. Outside of that, I don’t think I judge a book based on the cover. It’s definitely possible that a book will not draw my eye when I am perusing in the book store if the cover is not attractive, but I wouldn’t shun it purposefully. And, I think like anybody else, when I order from an online retailer that has several editions available, I always take the one with the more attractive cover. I love cover art!!

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Memes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Book Blogger Hop – September 3-6, 2010

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Just hopping by….your site is so clever and cute.

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com/

  2. Hi there!

    Just hopping over via hop! I love your blog design it’s so pretty! I’m sure to stop over some other time! Have a great weekend and happy reading!

    Til next time,
    Lisa (Badass Bookie) xx
    http://badassbookie.blogspot.com/

  3. julie says:

    Your pink sheep are awesome!

    I judge many books by their covers. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t 🙂

    If you have time, drop in and say hi at Manga Maniac Cafe

  4. Autumn says:

    New follower from the blog hop! Love the pink sheep!!

  5. Donna says:

    I love, love, love the pink sheep! You have lived in some wonderful places – it must be very interesting.

    I hope you will have time to visit one or both of my blogs: LibrarysCat and Never Forget!

    Have a great weekend.

  6. Jamie says:

    Hi! I’m here from the Hop. I was attracted by the title of your blog… it’s pretty much awesome. 🙂

    Also, love the rating system.

  7. Hey there! I’m glad to have found you via the Hop. I really think we all judge books by their covers, even if we don’t really *mean* to, you know? Why do they make covers so darn pretty, anyway? It’s like they’re designed just to make me WANT them. Grrrr.

  8. pussreboots says:

    My beginning is from Wizard World by Roger Zelazny.

  9. Kelly says:

    Visiting from the hop! I agree with you-covers are pretty important in picky out a book. But there are really good books out there with really bad covers too, so I do try and read what a book is about before dismissing it because of the cover. I actually am drawn more to the title of a book in deciding if I should even read the blurb.

  10. Donna says:

    I wouldn’t go so far as to say I “judge” a book by its cover. But an attractive cover will definitely attract me. And an obscene cover, or one depicting blood and gore, will turn me away completely. Oooh, and the covers of some romance novels with the windblown Fabio-types standing in a gunslinger pose just crack me up! I guess you can tell I don’t read them. A cover with vintage clothing or objects draws me like ants to a picnic. Here’s my post. Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

