55 Quirky Questions for Readers – Part 5 of 5

This questionnaire was put together by Lydia over at the Literary Lollipop. In desperate need of something to post on Sundays I have stolen it (what? what do you mean she’s giving it away?) Like so many other lazy bloggers who have been breaking this up into several parts to fill their Sundays, I will, shamelessly, do likewise. This is part five of five.

45. Most disappointing film adaptation: Twilite by whoever that vampire series is by. (I haven’t read them either)

46. Most money I’ve ever spent in a bookstore at one time: Well in excess of $300 Cnd.

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it? Never

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book halfway through? If the prose doesn’t flow for me. The book can be well written, but if the pages don’t sing to me then I am put off fairly easily.

49. Do you like to keep your books organized? When I am in a situation where I have a more-or-less permanent set-up, then yes.

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once they’ve been read? I am a hoarder of books. I keep everything. I know it’s terrible, I should be passing them on for others to enjoy. Taking part in the Crazy Book Swap being put on by Wallace from Unputdownables is the first step in this direction.

51. Are there any books that you’ve been avoiding? That whole The Girl Who…series by Stieg Larsson among many, many others.

52. Name a book that made you angry: Right now Parrot and Olivier in America by Peter Carey is making me angry because it is turning out to be very difficult to get through. I know that’s now what you meant, but I can’t think of anything more snarky at the moment. (I am writing this on August 16. If I am not finished this book by the time you are reading this then there is something very wrong!)

53. A book I didn’t expect to like but did: The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz. This is my all time favorite book now too!

54. A book I expected to like but didn’t: Home by Marilynne Robinson

55. Favourite guilt-free guilty pleasure reading: I don’t feel guilt in reading anything. If I am reading it then it MUST be worthy.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Memes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 55 Quirky Questions for Readers – Part 5 of 5

  1. It seems like Twilight has been a disappointment for many, myself included.

    Great answers! Thanks for participating! 🙂

Leave a Reply

