Book Blogger Appreciation Week 2010 – It Begins

BOOK BLOGGER APPRECIATION WEEK

I really hadn’t been planning on taking part in BBAW 2010, because I am so new to the blogosphere and I felt as though I wasn’t established enough to start taking part in these things. After having a little look-see at the BBAW website, I changed my mind.

Today’s topic, for those of us new to the game, is to feature the first book blog we ever discovered. To be quite honest, I can’t remember the first blog I discovered, because it was quite some time ago and I imagine it was quite by accident…perhaps I don’t even follow it anymore. So instead, I am going to tell you about two book blogs that inspired me to start my own.

Farm Lane Books Blog

I think the reason I was initially attracted to this blog was because Jackie, who hails from Surrey, England, has, not only an incredible taste in books, but a varied taste as well. She does not review specific genres of books, but dips her toes into a variety of literary pools. Nearly every review that Jackie has posted has led to me adding another book to my TBBought list. I have already made it quite clear to her that if she does not cease and desist with the reviewing of amazing books that I will be sending here a bill very soon (she thinks I’m kidding :D)

Everything Jackie posts on her blog is intelligent, interesting and relevant. And I think that that may be the single most appealing thing about Farm Lane. 99% of Jackie’s content pertains to…guess what?…you think you know don’t you?…but, you’re never going to get it…the suspense is killing you…wait for it…BOOKS! Yes, I know, it’s hard to believe, a book blog that actually reviews books and talks about literary stuff. Combined with Jackie’s cultivated and thoughtful writing style this makes Farm Lane a real treat to follow.

For the reasons listed above, I have come to look up to Jackie as a sort of blogging mentor. I really believe that Farm Lane sets the standard for bona fide book blogging. For those of you who have not yet discovered this wonderful blog, I hope you will take the time to check it out.

Caribousmom

Wendy is first and foremost an animal lover whose furry family includes dogs, cats, horses and various other species of fuzzy fellows. Her blog, however, is not about animals; it is about her other passion, books. On occasion, these two passions will overlap and can be reflected in some of Wendy’s book choices. She really likes books about dogs and horses.

What I like most about Caribousmom is that Wendy keeps things varied. She always has an elegant and enjoyable writing style, but her book reviews and literary features are never overly homogeneous. Things are a little different every time and this gives her blog a refreshing candor that provides a real sense of her personality. That is what keeps me coming back to Caribousmom. I don’t always find my taste in books overlapping with Wendy, but, even when I don’t, I still find her reviews to be enjoyable reads.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Book Blogger Appreciation Week 2010 – It Begins

  1. Iris says:

    I found your blog today through BBAW 🙂

    Jackie’s blog is excellent. I have heard Caribousmom mentioned quite a lot, but somehow never visited her blog. I’m off to change that now.

  2. Meg says:

    Welcome to the book blogosphere — we’re all happy to have you! 🙂 Great choices here — can’t go wrong with them, really. Happy BBAW!

  3. amymckie says:

    Both wonderful blogs! I’m glad that you were spotlighted by Jackie because it is what brought me to your blog. And I love it already!

  4. I’ve visited your blog a few times and really enjoy it! Love your “brand,” and also have enjoyed the blogs you mentioned today.

    Here’s my post:

    http://snowconnections.wordpress.com/2010/09/13/bbaw-week-first-treasures/

  5. winstonsdad says:

    I found you as well via jackies post today have add you to my reader ,all the best stu

  6. Janelle says:

    I just couldn’t resist clicking through your pink sheep link. What an unusual name for a blog.

  7. Wallace says:

    It’s perfect to become involved in these events when you’re new… it helps you gain more community very fast! I hope you enjoy the week. 🙂

    By the way, Caribou’s Mom was my introduction to Book Blogging!

  8. Thank you for the kind words – I think that is the nicest thing anyone has ever said about my blog 🙂

    I didn’t realise that I’d inspired you to start blogging – that is wonderful to know. You have created a wonderful blog here and I hope to enjoy it for many years to come.

    It is great to see that you’ve mentioned Caribou’s Mom. Hers was one of the first I followed too. I was so in awe of her that I lurked for a very long time (and actually still lurk a bit too much). She has an almost identical taste in books to me, so if she rates anything with 5 stars I add it to my list.

  9. Thank you for the kind words – I think that is the nicest thing anyone has ever said about my blog 🙂

    I didn’t realise that I’d inspired you to start blogging – that is wonderful to know. You have created a wonderful blog here and I hope to enjoy it for many years to come.

    It is great to see that you’ve mentioned Caribou’s Mom. Hers was one of the first I followed too. I was so in awe of her that I lurked for a very long time (and actually still lurk a bit too much). She has an almost identical taste in books to me, so if she rates anything with 5 stars I add it to my list.

  10. You’ve spotlighted two pretty outstanding blogs! Happy BBAW!!!

  11. Emily says:

    Both those blogs sound fantastic! I’m going to have to head on over there now 🙂

    Btw, love the name of your blog! Happy BBAW!

  12. Megan says:

    It’s never too early in your book blogging “career” to enjoy the many pleasures of BBAW! You’ve spotlighted two of my very favorite blogs. Both Jackie and Wendy like the sorts of books I tend to like and write so well about them that they’ve multiplied the size of my wishlist several times over!

Leave a Reply

