BBAW – Day 3 – Unexpected Treasure

BOOK BLOGGER APPRECIATION WEEK

DAY 3: An Unexpected Treasure

I was trying to come up with a specific book that I have actually read based on the recommendation of another blogger and I can’t find one. I have about a million recommendations from bloggers on my TBBought list, but until my next trip to the bookstore, I am stuck reading a lot of my own books.

Back in July I was introduced to Maw Books’ Social Justice Challenge by the wonderful Wendy at Caribousmom and that led to me to take part in the August challenge for Illiteracy and Education, which in turn led to me picking up some books for review that I normally wouldn’t. What I ended up reading was quite extraordinary for me. I read a non-fiction work, and not just any non-fiction work, but a collection of academic articles on the subject of creating opportunities for literacy in the developing world.  I also ended up reviewing a children’s book and a young-reader’s book (not quite YA). All were very new to my reading repertoire.

I have also found that the number of YA reads on my TBBought list are beginning to exceed those of other types of books. While I haven’t read a lot in the way of YA fiction yet, I am starting to understand that YA can be a genre for everyone, not just young people. My new found interest in YA fiction can be attributed to Nicole at Linus’s Blanket and Lenore at Presenting Lenore who both review their fair share of YA reads. Thanks Nicole and Lenore! Both these girls have terrific blogs. I hope you will check them out.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to BBAW – Day 3 – Unexpected Treasure

  1. teadevotee says:

    That social justice challenge sounds so interesting – sorry to have missed it!

  2. bookgazing says:

    I think the book blogging community has bought so many people to YA, which is fantastic.

    Oh and you live in Split! I was there a while ago on holiday (during the last national holiday celebration) and was so in love with the beauty of your city.

  3. I have also found some great YA books by reading other blogs. I never really explored that genre before, as when I was growing up there wasn’t that market. However, I have found and read some really great YA books this year that perhaps I would normally ignore.

    • Robbie says:

      I never really thought about it when I was younger. I loved to read, but I never really considered books that were meant for young adults. It almost seem condescending somehow, I don’t know why, lol.

  4. Charlie says:

    So many people talking about YA today! I think all those who think it is too immature for adults to read will soon have to re-assess their opinions. I read three out of four of the blogs you mention but I hadn’t heard of the Social Justice challenge, it sounds very interesting!

  5. It does seem intriguing to me to read YA books at this time in my life—especially since, as a young person, the books I read were HEFTY adult books by Dostoevsky and Tolstoy.

    But life is a cycle and everything changes. I may have to dive into these books at some point. I do have a “coming-of-age” book on my stacks; it’s actually for a younger group than YA. But it’s from an author I adore (Joyce Maynard). So I’m going to be reading it in the next few weeks. I also have The Carrie Diaries, which is YA, on my stacks.

    Here’s what I wrote for today’s post:

    http://snowconnections.wordpress.com/2010/09/15/bbaw-unexpected-treasures/

  6. Iris says:

    I hope the Social Justice Challenge will be back, because I really want to join in next time!

  7. amymckie says:

    I LOVE the Social Justice Challenge – it was part of what made me start my own blog, so that I could participate. Unfortunately, I seem to have gotten very slack and haven’t read anything since February for it. Yikes :S I must get better at that.

    Also, YA is awesome isn’t it? I’m only really getting back to it this year too.

  8. I love all the bloggers that you mentioned – Lenore, Nicole and Wendy. I’m so glad that you are enjoying the social justice challenge!

Leave a Reply

