BBAW – Day 4 – Forgotten Treasure

BOOK BLOGGER APPRECIATION WEEK

DAY 4: A Forgotten Treasure

The topic for day 4 of Book Blogger Appreciation Week is forgotten treasures. Do I have a book that I wish got more attention from the book blogging community? I had to rack my brain for all of two seconds to come up with the answer. Anyone who has been following my blog from the beginning may have noticed that I have a tendency to gush about Timothy Findley. For me, he was one of the greatest literary minds of the 20th Century.

One of Findley’s trademarks was to take historical events and write them into a fictional context…or maybe it was to take fictional events and write them into an historical context. Either way, he liked to blend fact and fiction in some of the most marvelous ways. My favorite Findley novel has long been Not Vanted on the Voyage. To sum it up in a single sentence, it is the story of Noah’s Arc told partially from the perspective of Noah’s wife’s cat. Now if that doesn’t catch your attention, tell me, what will?

God, the all powerful, wizardy, cat-loving, sort of guy he has been portrayed as here, is growing tired with his creation. Man is running amok and chaos is reigning on Earth. God decides to end it all with a massive flood (perhaps you know this story? ;)) God’s buddy, the curmudgeon and brutish Noah is chosen, with his family to survive the flood. This is obviously the tale of Noah’s epic adventure to save the animals and his family from the flood, but it if like nothing you imagine it to be. The symbolism employed by Findley and the tidbits of modernity that he throws in make this a raucously funny and pleasantly quirky read. I am straining myself to remember further plot details, but it has been nearly ten years since I read the book. I am dying to re-read it, but my only copy is back in Canada and the Book Depository, shamefully so, does not carry Findley’s work to the extent they should.

P.S. – If you aren’t a big fan of symbolism this book might not be for you. Findley does overdo it slightly in that department, but, honestly, it only serves to add to the humor and wit of the story.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to BBAW – Day 4 – Forgotten Treasure

  1. leeswammes says:

    Noah’s wife’s cat? OK, that sounds interesting. I’m not great with symbolism, though. But it sounds interesting!

  2. Oh, I always enjoy symbolism and unusual perspectives, which this one sounds like it has! Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s mine:

    http://snowconnections.wordpress.com/2010/09/16/bbaw-forgotten-treasures/

  3. Jeanne says:

    This is one I’ve never heard of, but it sounds great! Thanks for the recommendation!

  4. amymckie says:

    I’ve never heard of this book, but it sounds hilarious! Adding it to my wish list now 🙂

  5. winstonsdad says:

    this sounds wonderful ,never heard of the writer ,sounds like a great concept re write history from a characters perspectives wonderful all the best stu

  6. Amy says:

    I’ve never heard of Timothy Findley but I like the sound of his books. Not Wanted on the Voyage sounds fascinating to me. The story of Noah’s Ark is one I have always liked. The fact that Noah’s wife’s cat tells part of the story is very intriguing and not just because I am a cat fan! I like books that are a little quirky, funny and entertaining with a unique story. This certainly sounds that way.
    Thank you !

    My post today, funny enough, is about Helen Dunmore and The Seige as well as 2 other books she wrote!

    ! Amy

  7. Parrish says:

    Having a history of loving literate cats, this sounds ideal, I shall seek it out.

  8. Donna says:

    If nothing else, I love the cover! Sounds delightful!

  9. Parrish says:

    Ps. have you come across Lamb, the gospel according to Biff
    by Christopher. this is christ’s early life told by his best mate Biff & has been described as a mix of Kurt Vonnegut and Douglas Adams”

  10. Robbie says:

    That sounds really awesome. I will have a look for it! Thanks!

  11. Marieke says:

    Hi Robbie, great sheep! Glad you joined BBAW and your choice of book today sounds very funny and bizarre. Definitely not one I’ve heard of. Greetings from Scotland by the way.

    • Robbie says:

      Marieke, you have a wonderful blog. I am disappointed I didn’t discover you earlier. Nice to hear you are from Scotland. We Canadian Burns’ need a true Scot to keep us in line sometimes!

  12. S. Krishna says:

    I enjoy symbolism, so this one might be for me! Thanks for spotlighting it.

  13. Michelle says:

    I’ve never heard of Findley before. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

