BBAW – Day 5 – Future Treasures

BOOK BLOGGER APPRECIATION WEEK

DAY 5: Future Treasures

When BBAW started this year, I wasn’t sure if I was going to take part. I felt too new, as though I wasn’t quite established enough to take part yet. In the end I did and I am very grateful that I did so.

I want to send a huge thank-you and an even huger hug out to Jackie from Farm Lane Books Blog. Jackie featured me on the first day of BBAW and I was very moved by that. I have a great deal of respect for Jackie as a Book Blogger and a nod from her is the only approval I need to know that I am doing a good job with my blog. As a result of Jackie’s endorsement, I received more than triple my normal daily traffic that day and have continued to receive people from that recommendation all week. Thank you Jackie!

I had no idea what a wonderful event BBAW could be. I discovered all sorts of new blogs. You can check out my Book Blogger Hop post for today to see the best blogs I picked up over the course of the week. The number of book blogs on my reader is getting a bit out of control. I know, at some point, I will have to cull through them and pick out some of the ones I don’t follow so closely. For the time being, however, I am just happy to have been introduced to so many wonderful bloggers. We have some really friendly and talented people in our community.

I’ve only been blogging now for a little over two months. I have accomplished so much in that span of time and I am sure there is a great deal in store for me over the next year. I am a little bit worried, though, about how I am going to keep up with things in the New Year. In January, my partner and I are moving back to Canada. When we do, I am going to have to start working again and I know that the amount of time I have available to read is going to go way down, at least for some short period.

Some of the things I am looking forward to over the next year are:

– Taking part in some challenges (I have avoided it up until now, because my boyfriend would kill me if I bought any more new books before reading the ones I have on the shelf)

– Hosting a 72 hr. read-a-thon (24 and 48 hours are just not long enough)

– Hosting a YA month (I have quite a collection of YA fiction on my TBBought list and I need an excuse to buy it all in one go and rip through it)

– Meeting more great books bloggers (but, not too many ;))

Thank you to everybody who has stopped by Pink Sheep Cafe over the course of the week and an extra big thank you to those who have either subscribed to the blog or started following me on Twitter. This has been a whirlwind week the likes of which I have not seen before. I am so happy I took part.

Now, in order to recover from Book Blogger Appreciation Week, my partner and I will be heading to Budapest tomorrow morning for a weekend of dubious debauchery. Actually, we will probably spend most of our time relaxing in the thermal baths as it is supposed to rain all weekend. I hope you all have a terrific weekend. I look forward to seeing you again on Tuesday.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Memes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to BBAW – Day 5 – Future Treasures

  1. Marieke says:

    I’m feeling the need to relax and rest up after a whirlwind week as well! It’s been good and hectic… and I’ve discovered so many great new blogs. Cheers!

  2. I’m so pleased to hear that lots of new people found your site and continue to visit it. BBAW is a great event and I’m pleased that you enjoyed participating in it and I hope that things continue to do go from strength to strength for you. Keep up the great work 🙂

  3. May you continue reading great books and blog about those for us!

    Here is my BBAW: Forgotten Treasures post!

  4. Petty Witter says:

    Amazing the things we accomplish in just over two months – here’s to many more months (and years) of happy blogging.

  5. Lu says:

    This is the first time that I’ve visited your blog and if Jackie says I should be following it, well I have to agree… also your background is very impressive. Loved this post!

  6. Jessica says:

    A 72 hour read-athon, wowser 😉 funny as my traffic increased greatly since the monday post on Jackies and Chris’s blog as well.

  7. Trish says:

    Challenges are a blast–but be careful as they’ll do major damage to your TBR pile! 🙂 Glad the past two months have been so great–and as someone who works full-time and can’t blog (or read) everyday, I know it can be a struggle, but just do what you can. And enjoy!

  8. winstonsdad says:

    looking forward to getting to know you over the nextr year ,and hope you get to meet all your goals ,all the best stu

  9. Sherry says:

    Please consider this comment your invitation to finish up your BBAW week by adding a link to any reviews you’ve managed to post this week to the Saturday Review of Books at Semicolon this Saturday. Every week book bloggers from all over the blogosphere post links to their reviews and other bloggers and readers check out the reviews and find even more books to add to their wishlists.

    Thanks for blogging and reading and sharing.

  10. jvoss says:

    Howdy! Found your blog via the Hop. Love the pink sheep photos. 🙂

    Welcome to the book blogging world. I’ll check back with you soon.

    http://www.primoreads.com/

  11. Lydia says:

    It must be nice to be so close to Budapest! Just a hop, skip, and jump away.

  12. Parrish says:

    Love the blog name, like new I am new to blogging & i am finding my feet, hoping to take part in more challenges, So best of luck with yours.

Leave a Reply

