Book Blogger Hop Sept 24 – 27

The Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Jennifer over at Crazy For Books

This week the question asks: When you write reviews, do you write them as you are reading or wait until you have read the entire book?

Oh, geeze, how I would love to say I am organized enough to write the reviews as I go!! That is far from the truth, though. I never write the actual review before I have finished the book. Heaven forbid that I start writing a positive toned review at the beginning and end up hating the book in the end…it would just never work 😉 What I do is make notes, or if I am lazy, I dog ear the pages where there are thought provoking plot points or other important landmarks so I can use those as reference points when I go back to write the review. The biggest problem is that I have a terrible memory. If I spend more than a few days on a particular book or if I let more than a couple of days pass without writing the review, my head slowly empties and the book is gone from my mind; I am left grasping at straws. Was that book about a Troll with a god-complex, or a God with a troll-complex? I just can’t remember anymore…

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Memes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Book Blogger Hop Sept 24 – 27

  1. Petty Witter says:

    My answer – post-it stickies. My books awaiting review are full of them.

  2. Heather says:

    I’m envious of you note makers!!!

    New follower here 🙂

    Check out my Hop here:
    Book Blogger Hop, Follow Friday and a Giveaway!

  3. Jen says:

    Stopping by from the hop!

    Dog-earing the pages makes me cringe! But it works for you!

  4. Pris says:

    I’m visiting from Crazy-For-Books! Looking forward to seeing what you post on your site! Cute blog! You can view my blog and follow me back at:
    http://www.benterudbookshelf.blogspot.com
    Thanks! Pris

  5. Danielle says:

    Hello, Happy Friday!

    I’m stopping by to say hello on Follow Friday and the Blog Hop. TGIF!!

    Have a awesome weekend!

    http://romancebookjunkies.blogspot.com

  6. Loni says:

    Stopping by from the Hop. I think post-its are a good idea. I’ll scribble things down on paper too (how old-fashioned!)

    Love the pink sheep background!

    http://www.loniseye.blogspot.com

  7. I’m stopping by on the hop.

    45 Book Bloggers have joined our
    Follower Appreciation Hop.
    Come join us!!

    If you love giveaways like I do or have a giveaway on your blog then stop by and check out my new giveaway linky:
    Got Great Giveaways?

    Have a great weekend!
    ~Inspired Kathy
    I Am A Reader, Not a Writer

  8. Pink sheep are awesome. I’ve also seen green pigs 🙂

    Have a great weekend full of great books and reading time.

    Happy Hopping!

    Black Disaster Fairy

    literarydaydreams.blogspot.com
    wickedsexybooks.blogspot.com

  9. Trina says:

    Oh my. I thought it was just me. My memory is shot. I have tried to compile lists of my favorite books, books I’ve read by this type of author or that. I can’t remember. I can hardly remember the title of the book I just finished last week. Maybe it’s age for me. I don’t know.

    I just love these pink cows. Just kidding!!

  10. Yay! Another fellow dogear-er! I thought I was the only one.

  11. I’m a note taker! My memory is pitiful and I’m the same as Trina above. Some days I’m lucky to remember my name. Taking notes has been so helpful and my reviews have definitely become more meaningful. Enjoy your weekend !

    Hop by and visit my blog

  12. Kelly says:

    LOL that’s why I always need to take notes as I’m reading! If I just dogear the pages as I go, I forget when I’m writing the review why I dogeared the page in the first place! Hope you have a really great weekend!

  13. Elizabeth says:

    Just hopping by….

    Stop by my blog if you get a chance for the answer to this week’s questions…it was my question that was chosen…pretty neat.

    I also have a lot of review you may want to check out.

    Happy Hopping, Everyone….hop on over to my blog to see MY answer to MY question. 🙂

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

