Book Blogger Hop – October 1, 2010

The Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Jennifer over at Crazy For Books

This week the question asks: How do you spread the word about your blog?

First off, I have to say, I don’t do nearly enough to promote my own blog. Memes are clearly one of the best ways to promore a blog, but I hate taking part in them. So many memes seem so meaningless and often don’t relate to the subject matter of my blog. I take part in the Book Blogger Hop and Monday Musings (Should be Reading) because they always ask questions that are directly related to reading and literature.

I also try very hard to comment on other blogs, but, the truth is, I don’t like commenting just for the sake of promoting my own blog. It seems to me that when people go about commenting willy-nilly for their own self-interest that it is a bit of a slap in the face to other bloggers. I can’t stand watching my comments section fill up with posts that say “Great post. Check out my blog at…” or “Very interesting. Here is my blog…” Often, I never end up visiting those blogs, because I assume that if somebody can’t conjure up a decent comment that they probably don’t have much to say on their blogs either. I only comment on other blogs when I have really been struck by a particular post and have something meaningful to say about it.

Other then that, I just try to be patient. I have had several occasions in which I have been mentioned on other (far more popular) blogs than my own and those have been the best traffic creators.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Memes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Book Blogger Hop – October 1, 2010

  1. Misha Mathew says:

    Hopping by to say Hi! Glad to have discovered your blog!
    Have a great Weekend!
    Misha
    My Book Blogger Hop

  2. Happy HOP! I come by and visit your blog each week through the different memes we take part in and I really feel that’s the best way to get to know people. For me, I can’t expect people to come visit me if all I’m doing is sitting back and not doing the same. I have alot of fun doing the memes and it gives me a great opportunity to see what everyone’s up to. I agree with you about commenting. I put a little piece of me in what I blog and it’s nice to hear more than “Great review” I try to make sure in my visits I don’t do the same. Hope you have a great weekend planned.

  3. Shan says:

    Patience is the best way! I think we can all tell the difference between a genuine comment and one that is there just to promote the blog, and like you said, often those don’t get the visits they were looking for.

  4. That’s a great answer. I have so say that just leaving comments for the sake of leaving comments isn’t something I normally like to do, either (well, except during the Book Blogger Hop). I do try not to beg for traffic, though. 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  5. Hopping on by to catch that darn rabbit.

    What do my eyes see?

    Pink Sheep! How pleasant!

    Mad Scientist
    Laboratory found @
    madsteampunkery.blogspot.com

  6. I have enjoyed visiting your blog, for the blogger hop and also a few other memes. I like your set-up and the title, which is very clever.

    I’m curious as to how you got the sheep and pasture background….I love discovering how other bloggers create their unique sites.

    My blogger hop URL is here, in case you’re interested:

    http://curlupandread.wordpress.com/2010/10/01/book-blogger-hop-oct-1-4/

  7. Jeanie says:

    Stopping by from the Blog Hop. I usually only get comments from people that are trying to sell their products or websites. I would love to have some people just hop by and leave a generic comment it would mix things up on my blog.

    Jeanie
    Twice is Nice Blog! Visit Our blog for reviews, giveaways and fun!

  8. pussreboots says:

    I don’t like commenting just for promotion either. Happy weekend. Come see how I use the social networks.

  9. Heather says:

    Well, it helps too that you give quality answers to the questions… I mean, there are some people who I’ve read who have answered this question with, “Whatever I can! Haha”… which to me, is just as much a copout answer as “OMG, great post, visit me at…”

    There are really only two explanations, 1. they’re follower hunting and couldn’t give a rat’s patootie about what you have to say, or 2. they’re really young and stupid (not literally stupid… just not wise in the polite ways of the world).

    I hate the meaningless memes too… I want something informational… something that can either offer me help, or allow me to offer help to others. I’d been doing Teaser Tuesday, but I think I’m going to stop for two reasons… I rarely find anything new to read from doing it and most people can’t follow the rules and end up typing a paragraph or so. I get a lot more out of Waiting on Wednesday… where I often find that authors I love are releasing something new, and I didn’t even know!

    I don’t do Monday Musings though… but if it really is helpful I should check it out!

    Check out my Book Blogger Hop, Follow Friday and Giveaway HERE!

  10. Elizabeth says:

    Stopping back for a visit to my one of my favorite design blogs……just hopping by…are you really going to do a 24-hour read-a-thon on October 9?

    Stop by my blog if you like to see how I get the word out:

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

  11. Kelly says:

    I do agree with some of what you said 🙂 I comment on other blogs as much as I can, but I don’t do it just to spread the word about my blog. I would feel guilty doing that. But I do love to read lots of blogs and book reviews and if I have the time I try to comment in a meaningful way. Sometimes I don’t have a lot of time so I’ll just say, “Oh I’ve never heard of this book but from reading your review, it sounds great!” because I hope it at least shows the blogger that I’m reading what they write and appreciating it 🙂
    Still loving those pink sheep in the background photo!
    Have a great rest of the weekend!

  12. Kinna says:

    Completely agree with your response. I also don’t do memes. I’m still waiting on a question that I would like to answer for the Weekly Geeks one. I have a select group of blogs that I follow and I try to visit each one at least once every two weeks or I will leave a comment when a blog post piques my interest. I think posting regular content (which sometimes is a struggle for me) and building a blog that reflect the blogger is a very good way of spreading the word. Eventually, people who are interested will visit the blog. Keep up the good work.

  13. Elizabeth says:

    CONGRATS on your Versatile Blogger Award.

Leave a Reply

