Book Blogger Hop – October 8-10

The Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Jennifer over at Crazy For Books

This week the question asks: What’s your favorite beverage while reading or blogging, if any? Is it tea, coffee, water, a glass of wine, or something else?

I don’t drink nearly as much as I read. If I did, I would probably be doing a lot of reading in the washroom. As it is, I most often like to enjoy a very large cup of some sort of Rooibos tea. It has to be Rooibos because I do much of my reading later in the evening and if I were drinking anything else, the caffeine would keep me up all night. I like all sorts of favorites, but recently I have been enjoying Goyi Berry.

Every morning we go to a local cafe to sit for an hour or so and get our caffeine high. I always order a Bečki Cappuccino, a normal cappuccino with a dollop of frozen cream. It’s marvelous, because the cream is like ice cream. More often than not, I am buried in my book at the cafe as well.

Occasionally, I will sit down in the evening with a glass of Croatian or Bosnian red wine and some sort of Dalmatian cheese. Wine and cheese are both well produced in the region and go well with a good book. I can’t have anymore than one glass. If I do, I begin to lose my patience for reading and the words are lost in the wine.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Memes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Book Blogger Hop – October 8-10

  1. toni says:

    aaahhh wine and cheese sounds fantastic! I’ve never come across your blog before, but I like it. I’m going to add it to my reader 😀

    Have a nice weekend!

  2. I agree- no caffeine with night time reading! I definitely like to eat cheese and read though.

  3. Happy HOP!. I drink alot of water throughout the day and when I get home I switch to diet soda. I do most of my blogging and reading at night because I work fulltime so the soda helps me stay awake long enough to do things. Hope you have a fun weekend planned!

    Come HOP by and visit

  4. Kristina says:

    Oh my gosh, your response is so exotic. xD Ahh, I just checked where you lived — Croatia. I’ve like… never heard of those tea’s, or that cappuccino (though it does sound yummy!), or that wine and cheese (which also sound yummy!). I’m kind of tempted to bribe you into sending me some! =P

    I don’t normally drink while I read. But when I review, I must, must, MUST have a cold glass of Very Vanilla Soymilk. It’s weird, but I can’t write a review without it! 😛

    Kristina @ Frazzled Book Nommer. ❤

  5. Jon says:

    Hi! Just stopping in from the hop.

  6. Literati says:

    I LOVE your blog title. And the background. Actually, I love the whole thing. 🙂

    The cappuccino with a dollop of frozen cream sounds amazing! Now I want to try that. Yum!

    Hope you have a wonderful hop!

    -Literati
    http://literatisliterarylibrary.blogspot.com/

  7. Suko says:

    I also love Rooibos tea! The Bečki Cappuccino sounds wonderful, as does the red wine! 🙂

  8. Happy Hopping! Interesting way to get a name! May I join your morning ritual?? Sounds absolutely wonderful and peaceful. In North Carolina, where I used to live, we had a coffee shop with a fireplace in it and couches by it so you could drink your coffee and drink it by the fire. I loved it! But now I’ve moved north and there isn’t any place like that though since it’s colder here longer, you’d think it would be the perfect place for a cozy coffee shop!

    Heather

  9. Kelly says:

    LOL I am craving some really awesome cheese and wine right now thanks to you! I agree about not having more than one glass of wine. I start falling asleep and losing my train of thought after more than one glass.

    Have a great weekend!

  10. Guta Bauer says:

    I need caffeine all the time!!

    Come to see me at Murphy’s Library
    http://www.murphyslibrary.com/

  11. your name sucked me in 🙂 Love the background
    seducedbybooks.blogspot.com

  12. Elizabeth says:

    Just hopping by…happy hopping.

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

    Beautiful day here in Western Pennsylvania.

  13. Just hopping by! That wine and cheese concoction sounds fabulous. Love reading with something good to snack on. Mostly, though, I drink water, coffee (in the a.m.), or wine in the evenings.

  14. Elizabeth says:

    Stopping by to say hello to you and my pink friends….they are so cute. When I was in Scotland this summer, I would love when I saw the sheep grazing.

    Hope you have a fun hop this weekend.

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com/

  15. Julie says:

    I was raised drinking Rooibos and it is the only tea I drink.
    I love, love, love it! There is nothing better than Rooibos and a book 🙂

Leave a Reply

