Dewey’s 24hr. Read-A-Thon Wrap-up

October 9, 2010

OK, so I must confess, I had no idea that I was supposed to be making regular updates on my reading progress throughout the read-a-thon yesterday. Quite frankly, however, I am glad I didn’t. I don’t really understand the point of posting a gazillion updates during a time when one is supposed to be dedicated to reading. It is a distraction for yourself and for others. I woke up this morning and opened Google Reader to find well over 300 unread posts, the vast majority of which were updates people were making yesterday. If I had read those 300 posts yesterday, I would have ended up posting about nothing but other people’s updates, because that is all I would have read.

As it was, I had a very bad start to my read-a-thon. For the life of me, I couldn’t fall asleep the night before until almost 5AM. As a result I didn’t wake up until almost 11AM, but that was ok, I sat down right away and started reading.

My goals when I started out had been to get through the following books:

The Wars by Timothy Findley (again, with the angels singing?)

London Triptych by Jonathan Kemp

Daisy Miller by Henry James

After about two hours of continuous reading and charting my reading pace, I quickly realized this was not going to be possible. My reading was only progressing at about 35 pages per hour. I somehow thought I read faster. On top of that, when I set out, I had intended to read for about 14 of the 24 hours. When I did the math, there was no way I was going to be able to get all the reading done I had hoped.

As it was, I finished Timothy Findley’s The Wars (218 pages) which was fantastic, of course, and then I sort of gave up for the day. Well, not entirely, I read about 10 pages of London Triptych before I decided I was too exhausted to go on. On top of that, my eyes were getting ridiculously sore.

This was my first read-a-thon and I am looking back on it now with mixed feelings. I was glad that I took part, but I think if I were to take part in another one I would have to start off with more reasonable expectations and schedule some lengthy breaks. Perhaps if I had been able to get up earlier and had arranged to stop for and hour or two every four hours, I might have had better luck.

How was your read-a-thon?

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dewey’s 24hr. Read-A-Thon Wrap-up

  1. Amanda says:

    To me, the posting and updates and twitter is half the fun. A big international slumber party! 😀

  2. Rikki says:

    Robbie, you do have a point. I didn’t participate, but I agree that all the readathon posts and twitter updates seem to be slightly counterproductive (let alone all the commenting on other’s blog posts). It might be a lot of fun, as Amanda says, but without it one would get definitely more reading done.

  3. Marieke says:

    Sorry it didn’t go as well as you had hoped — I never do as much reading as I hope I will either! And the online distractions can be a big one.

    I decided not to visit anyone else’s blog until after it was all over… but then I invited a talkative friend over to ‘read’ with me so that was an added distraction. In any case, it was fun. Hope you think about doing it again!

  4. winstonsdad says:

    I enjoyed the reading my self as a male blogger often get left out on twitter a bit ,plus have my own friends on twitter so mainly talk to them ,I didn’t comment on many post it takes time ,pleased you had a productive readathon ,all the best stu

  5. amymckie says:

    Yes, there were a lot of update posts weren’t there! I did a few updates, but mostly stuck to reading! Congratulations!

  6. Iris says:

    There were a lot of update posts, I agree, but I do think that visiting blogs of other persons (not all and not all updates) is part of the fun. Like Amanda said, an international slumber party!

  7. I only went online once while reading and decided that I would just bypass that part of it and concentrate on reading.

    I only finished two books, and I picked books that were really not easy reads. They were intense in a probing kind of way. One was about a dying woman with multiple flashbacks and intense memories; the other was a memoir with around 300 pages, but the type was very small, so it felt like about 500 pages!

    Probably should have read some James Patterson or Grisham books. They’re fast reads!

Leave a Reply

