The Wars – Timothy Findley – Book Review

The Wars – Timothy Findley, copyright 1977.

Publisher: Faber and Faber

Pages: 218

Source: Personal Collection – Purchased New

Reason for Reading: Timothy Findley is the greatest author of modern times.

The Wars was one of the books I was primed to read for Dewey’s 24hr. Read-A-Thon on October 9th. As it turned out, it was the only book I read during the read-a-thon.

Regular readers of Pink Sheep Cafe will already be aware that Timothy Findley is my all-time favourite author, so needless to say this will be a very biased review. I have been making a concerted effort recently to get around to reading those of his works I haven’t read yet. The Wars was one of those books and it, like all of Findley’s novels, is a masterpiece (see? I told you it was going to be biased)

During the war (The War to End All Wars) Second Lieutenant Robert Ross was consumed by fire. The young and discerning man, sensitive to animals, did something; something for which the Canadian Military gave him a court-martial and for which history has judged him viciously. But that is not the entire story, as some might have you believe. Robert Ross also did some great things during his service. He quite willingly signed up to fight for his country in the midst of his grief for his sister, cared utterly for the military horses and fought in the Battle of the St. Eloi Craters.  During that time, he also witnessed horrible atrocities and observed great injustices all in the name of holding the line. Was Robert Ross driven mad by his experiences in the First World War or was he simply looking out for the best interests of his country and humanity?

At the heart of this story is the transformation of Ross from an innocent, naive kid into a somewhat worldly, enlightened and disillusioned man who, amongst the backdrop of chaos, manages to maintain his sense of humanity and compassion. If you are an animal lover, especially as concerns horses, you may not care for The Wars, as much of Robert Ross’ story involves his caring for the equine among his peers, some of which is less than pleasant. As difficult as some of these parts were to read, it was effective in highlighting the important role these animals played in the war.

Like many of Findley’s novels, The Wars contains a sizeable dose of symbolism, but it does not swamp the story. It helps to create some incredibly realistic portrayals of the fear experienced in the face of looming misfortune and the anxiety of uncertainty that are part-and-parcel with warfare. There are scenes that are both harrowing and disheartening; I don’t want to say that there is nothing graphic, as everyone has their own definitions, but this is war and, needless to say, there are bodies.

“Winds with the velocity of cyclones tore the guns from their emplacements and flung them about like toys. Horses fell with their bones on fire. Men went blind in the heat. Blood ran out of noses, ears and mouths…The storms might last for hours – until the clay was baked and the earth was seared and sealed with fire.” The Wars, page 148.

As time passes and we move farther and farther away from the time of both World Wars, we need more books like this to provide a stark reminder of the sacrifices that were made. Everyone should read The Wars. The fine prose with which Findley captures the emotional perturbation and the sensation of trench warfare is nothing short of genius and will compel you to remember that which must never be forgot.

RATING: A Wool New Kind of Reading Experience

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Wars – Timothy Findley – Book Review

  1. amymckie says:

    Hmm… I haven’t read anything by this author. I do see a tad bit of bias, but I’ll forgive you. We all have our biased reviews from time to time! And I just might have to check out something by Findley soon!

  2. Anne says:

    Thanks for dropping by on the Top Ten Tuesday. I think your blog is adorable.

  3. Anne says:

    I am so embarrassed that I’ve never even heard of this author. Argh! So many authors so little time.

    Also: Tag, you are it. I have tagged you for this fun little activity. Feel free to do it or not.
    -Anne
    http://headfullofbooks.blogspot.com

  4. Pingback: Timothy Findley – International Birthday GIVEAWAY!! | Pink Sheep Cafe

  5. joseph says:

    can you explain why findley portrayed robert as both a conventional and unconventional hero especially in the passage where he shoot the german soldier that lets him and his men go and escape the crater its around section 3 at 1pm

  6. Pingback: The Atom Station – Halldor Laxness – Book Review | Pink Sheep Cafe

Leave a Reply

