Monday Musings – October 18, 2010

Monday Musings is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should be Reading.

This weeks Musing asks: Do you prefer hardcovers, trade paperbacks (the bigger ones), or mass market paperbacks (the smaller ones)? Why?

I definitely have the greatest affinity for trade paperbacks. When I was younger, I used to think hardbacks were the greatest thing. They were larger and prettier, and I loved the firmness of hardbacks, it felt much nicer to read than a bendy paperback. What really started to turn me off of hardbacks was the dust jackets. They are too easily damaged. Whenever I read a hardback now, I always remove the dust-jacket and put it away in a cupboard. Still, when I go to retrieve it at the end of my read, it is often warped or bent out of shape.

Mass market paperbacks don’t appeal to me at all. I know most books are eventually sold in this format, but I can’t help it, my brain has somehow gone and associated these books with authors for which I really don’t care. When I think mass market, I think of authors who publish a book per month or hundreds of titles in their lifetime. That just turns me off. Additionally, mass markets are always so compact and that means the number of pages can sometimes seem overwhelming.

No, there is no question about it, trade paperbacks are the way to go. They are light, without being too compact, there are no annoying dust-jackets with which to contend and the price is usually right, especially if you have the opportunity to pre-order.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Memes. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Monday Musings – October 18, 2010

  1. Kristin says:

    I have a reason for each type of book I get and you can find out more here.

    When reading hardcover books, I take the dust jacket off, too! Then when I’m done, it goes back on. My husband throws out his dust jackets.

  2. Ann says:

    I like them all, but I do have my favorite.

  3. I have my own quirky reasons as well, but I totally agree about mass paperbacks. They remind me of those Harlequins that used to proliferate around the coffee room at work.

    Here’s my answer…and I like yours:

    http://laurelrainsnow.wordpress.com/2010/10/18/musing-mondays-oct-18/

  4. winstonsdad says:

    at home prefer hardcover books as look neater on shelf ,have paperbacks mainly to take to work to carry in my bag as there lighter ,all the best stu

  5. lucybirdbooks says:

    The dust jackets on hardbacks always annoy me too, I always take them off and quite often loose them. I prefer paperbacks generally anyway, a hardback weighs down your bag when you’re carrying it everywhere.

    Just to let you know I’ve tagged you: http://lucybirdbooks.wordpress.com/2010/10/18/ive-been-tagged/

  6. Julie says:

    I like them all for different reasons, but I think overall my favorite is hardcovers are my favorite.

  7. Julie says:

    and sometimes I like to repeat myself in nonsensical sentences. ARG! Sorry 😦

  8. I don’t like mass market paperbacks, either. They’re not meant to stand the test of time. Hardcovers and trade paperbacks are more my style… but I’m loving e-books since I got my Kobo.

  9. generally I have to agree on the trade paperbacks, but for a book I want to keep, then I like a hardcover. they book nice on the bookcases too.

Leave a Reply

