Timothy Findley – International Birthday GIVEAWAY!!

Yaaaay!! Are you excited? I am!! This is my FIRST GIVEAWAY!!

As many of you know, I am a huge fan of Canadian novelist and playwright Timothy Findley. Today, October 30th, is his birthday. Findley, who sadly passed away in 2002, would have been turning eighty-years-old today.

Timothy Findley was born October 30, 1930 in Toronto, Ontario and grew up in Rosedale, one of Toronto’s most prestigious neighborhoods. Tiff, as he was known by friends, originally chose to pursue a career in theater, acting and dancing and was part of the original company at the Stratford Shakespeare Festival in Stratford, Ontario. Through his stage career, Findley came to be acquainted with several big name performers, including Alec Guinness and American actress Ruth Gordon with whom Tiff came to share a close friendship.

In the 1960s, Findley left the stage behind in order to pursue his writing. In 1967, his first novel, The Last of the Crazy People was published and was soon followed by a second work, The Butterfly Plague in 1969. These first two novels were rejected by Canadian Publishers and were, originally, only published in Britain and the United States. Findley went on to publish a total of eleven novels, three collections of short-stories, eight plays and three memoirs. In 1977 he was awarded the Governor General’s Award for fiction for his third novel The Wars which, along with his debut novel went on to be adapted for film. As one of Canada’s most celebrated authors and an inspiration to the Canadian gay community, Timothy Findley had numerous accolades showered upon him, including being named as an Officer of the Order of Canada in 1985.

I know, I know…get to the details about the Giveaway right?

OK, so to celebrate Tiff’s 80th birthday, I am giving away a collection of five (5) gently used Findley novels. Those five novels are:

The Last of the Crazy People (1967) – Trade Paperback

The Wars (1977) – Trade Paperback

The Telling of Lies (1986) – Trade Paperback

The Piano Man’s Daughter (1995) – Mass Market

Pilgrim (1999) – Trade Paperback

This giveaway is for all five books together. In order to be entered, leave a comment on this post before November 13th. I will choose a winner on November 14th using Random.org. Make sure to leave your email address so I can contact you. The winner will have 72 hours to respond to my email. If they do not respond within the specified amount of time, I will choose another winner. The giveaway is open internationally to BOOK BLOGGERS. I, of course, expect that whoever wins the giveaway will review at least one of the novels on their blog.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Timothy Findley – International Birthday GIVEAWAY!!

  1. Katie Smith says:

    Hi!
    These look really good! I do review books on my blog and I would love to review these!
    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!

    KatieCan86@yahoo.com

  2. farmlanebooks says:

    Congratlations on your first giveaway! I haven’t heard of Timothy Findley before, but he sounds very interesting. I’ll try and read one of his books whether I win or not!
    jackie@farmlanebooks.co.uk

  3. Kelly says:

    I’ve heard of Findley but haven’t read anything by him yet. What a great idea for a giveaway 🙂 And happy birthday to him!

    kellyrochford(at)gmail(dot)com

  4. Hey, nice giveaway.. this books looks amazing! =D
    Thank u for made this international! =D
    I’m a brazilian book blogger, and I write about this contest in this part of my blog:
    http://memybookshelfandi.blogspot.com/p/cantinho-do-promonauta-internacional.html
    My e-mail is: srbojunior (at) bol (dot) com (dot) br
    Crossed fingers.. =D
    Best,
    Salatiel!

  5. leeswammes says:

    Congratulations on your first giveaway! And a nice one it is too! I have heard of Findley, but not read anything by him. A real shame, as two of my favorite authors are Canadian: Margaret Atwood and Douglas Coupland.

    So, this would be an ideal chance to read a new (for me) Canadian!

    Thanks for the giveaway. I’m Judith – jh303015 at gmail dot com

  6. diana says:

    have heard much about this author and sadly haven’t read him!
    thanks for the opportunity

  7. Loni says:

    I’ve been itching to read The Piano Man’s Daughter. Great choices.

    I’ve also posted about your giveaway.
    http://loniseye.blogspot.com/2010/11/timothy-findley-giveaway.html

    My email: eye[dot]storm[at]gmail[dot]com

  8. Kinna says:

    I have not heard of Timothy Findley. He sounds really interesting and I would love to read one of this books, especially The Wars. Thanks for this wonderful giveaway.

  9. Dear Mr Pink Sheep aka Robbie 🙂

    Firstly, many congratulations on your first giveaway! As an amateur but wildly enthusiastic book blogger, I can only imagine what an exciting landmark this must be. I am a big fan of the originality of your posts and review choices; I read anything I can get my hands on and have never come across Timothy Findlay before! So thank you! I’d love the chance to review these books- perhaps you could skim over my blog and see if I’m worthy of the great man 🙂

    Thanks for being a great source of distraction at work and providing constant entertainment. Happy blogging!

  10. Ps- just in case I had to leave it in the message, my email is zeenaprice@hotmail.com!

Leave a Reply

