Book Bloggers Abroad Challenge 2011

I’m started to get my New Year Reading Resolutions put together and part of the process of that is figuring out which challenges to take part in throughout 2011. I don’t want to go signing up for things willy-nilly; I want to try and put together a series of challenges that compliment each other and help me to achieve my overall goals for the year. One of my primary goals for the year is going to be reading more international fiction, especially Nobel Prize winning authors.

One of the challenges that I think is going to help me achieve that goal is the Book Bloggers Abroad Challenge being hosted by Judith from Leeswammes’ Blog.

For those of your who follow Judith’s blog, you are undoubtedly familiar with her terrific Book Bloggers Abroad feature in which she profiles bloggers from around the world. Each of her guests in the feature recommended several books.

For the challenge, we are to choose book from the guests’ selections. Judith is offering up three categories: we can choose to review 5 books (Reluctant Traveler), 10 books (Experienced Traveler) or 15 books (Ultimate Travler) Because this challenge fits in so well with my goals for the year, I am going to jump in with both feet and aim for 15 books. Some of the more notable choices I have already read and reviewed for my blog, others I read many many moons ago, so there may be an opportunity for me to reread a couple of books I haven’t read in a long time.

Check out the main page for the challenge to see some of the recommendations and sign-up for the challenge yourself.

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

