Looking Ahead

Happy New Year

What a spectacular year 2010 was for blogging. In July, I finally worked up the nerve to start my own book blog and haven’t looked back since. My numbers for the year were very modest, but I am over-the-moon with the success I have had this past six months.

2011 will mark the first opportunity I have to embark on a series of challenges. I want to be very careful about what I choose to go committing myself to. I recognize that a challenge should indeed be a challenge, but I also recognize that it is all too easy to go signing up for challenges willy-nilly knowing you will have no opportunity to complete them all. Thus, I am trying to gear my challenges towards my reading goals for the year. What might those be you ask?

One of the most enjoyable experiences I had in 2010 was getting to know some Nobel Prize winning authors, most notably Naguib Mahfouz and Halldor Laxness. I was blown away by the caliber of these authors and I learned that I need not be intimidated by Nobel Laureates. So, my biggest goal for this year is going to be committing myself to reading more Nobel fiction. This goes hand-in-hand with another of my goals, to start reading more international and translated fiction. Three challenges that I think are going to help me in achieving these goals are the 2011 Books Bloggers Abroad Challenge hosted by Judith at Lesswammes’ Blog, the 2011 Global Reading Challenge hosted by Dorte at DJ’s Krimiblog and the 2011 Awesome Authors Challenge hosted by Alyce at At Home With Books. All of these challenges are geared towards getting us to either read new authors or authors from abroad.

Another big goal I have my sights set on is getting into more GLBTQ fiction. As a gay book blogger, I quite naturally have an interest in gay literature, but I haven’t had the opportunity to read a heck of a lot of it this past year. The only GLBTQ lit I managed to read this year was Jonathan Kemp’s London Triptych which was incredible. To help me in achieving this goal, I have signed up for the 2011 GLBT Challenge that is being hosted by Amanda at The Zen Leaf.

 

 

 

 

I have one further goal, just a small one, and that is to try and re-read a couple of my favorites from years ago. Some of the best books I read, I read ages ago and I would really like to re-read some of them so I can review them for you. One book that is on the top of my re-reading list is Timothy Findley’s Not Wanted on the Voyage. It is my all time favorite read, but it has been a good seven years since I last read it. It’s time it deserves another go through. To help me with this last goal, I have signed up for the 2011 I Want More Challenge being hosted by Marce at Tea Time with Marce. The lone goal of this challenge is to get us re-reading some of the great reads from our past.

Personal Reading Goals for 2011 – #The Numbers#

– 10% New Nobel Authors

– 15% International/Translated Fiction

– 15% GLBTQ Authors

– 65% New to me Authors

– 2% Re-reads

I am not going to have nearly the amount of free time this year as I did in 2010, but I think the goals I have laid out are achievable. What do you think? Have I gone overboard?

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Looking Ahead

  1. winstonsdad says:

    all the best for the coming year and with your challenges

  2. Yvann says:

    Hi Robbie, Happy New Year and good luck with all your challenges.

    Re the GLBT challenge – have you heard of the Green Carnation Prize? It’s a new prize this year in the UK which it its first year focussed on works by gay men but is now widening its remit. You can find some details here: http://savidgereads.wordpress.com/2010/12/10/the-green-carnation-prize-expands-for-2011/

    All the best!

  3. amymckie says:

    Congratulations on such a fantastic first 6 months. I had no idea you started so recently, I thought you had been around forever! You’ve been doing really great in the first 6 months of blogging. Great resolutions for the next year and best of luck!!

  4. Very positive outlook on challenges. I, too, enjoy reading books that are new to me…pushing the envelope, if you will. Last year I participated in and completed the Awesome Authors Challenge and discovered some great new authors. I’m doing that one again, along with some others. I am trying to fit my challenges into the books on my stacks, as well as other books I might discover along the way.

  5. leeswammes says:

    Happy New Year, Robbie! How nice you’re doing the Book Bloggers Abroad challenge. Hope you find some good books – well, I’m sure you will!

    Good luck with all the challenges. It’s going to be… challenging!

Leave a Reply

