Weekend Wreading Writuals – Book Bloggers Against Israeli Apartheid?

I had a rather exciting Friday. After spending three hours whiling away the time in Burger King while my car was being serviced, I took a drive out to Booktown. Sidney is a small community on the Saanich Peninsula, just north of Victoria, with less than 12,000 people, but a bustling arts scene. I have spent most of the last two weeks trying to find some used book shops that would take my boxes and boxes (eight apple boxes) of long-ago-read and never-will-be-read books. In Sidney I found Beacon Books and, I swear, it is the largest used book store I have ever seen. I kept wandering farther and farther towards the back of the shop, but it never seemed to end. They were happy to take some of my old books off my hands on a trade basis. I spent over three hours browsing through the titles and walked out with another box full of books. I was on top of the world.

Afterwards, I went downtown Victoria to visit Chapters. For those of you who aren’t in the know about Canada’s shopping scene, Chapters-Indigo is Canada’s version of Barnes & Noble. I spent another hour wandering around in Chapters and walked out with $100 worth of TBR material. As I was leaving the store, I noticed a group of protesters holding Israeli Apartheid signs and went over to ask what it was all about. It turns out they were boycotting Chapters-Indigo. I was previously unaware that Heather Reisman and Gerry Schwartz, the majority shareholders in Chapters-Indigo, run a charitable foundation called the HESEG Foundation that supports members of the Israeli military. Unimpressed, I marched straight back into Chapters and returned all my books. The girl who helped me with the return had the friendly meter cranked to max and was killing me with kindness, hoping, I suppose, I might change my mind. When I was walking out of the store I had a look at the return slip and under reason for return it read “got sucked in by PROTESTERS” I couldn’t help but have a good laugh.

I was proud of myself for standing up for something that I really believe in. And, in the end, I ended up doing another great thing. I walked down to Munro’s Books (think Alice Munro) Victoria’s best known Indie Bookstore and spent twice as much money as I had at Chapters. Opposing Israeli Apartheid, buying local and supporting Indie Bookstores all in one day. What a fantastic weekend!

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Memes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekend Wreading Writuals – Book Bloggers Against Israeli Apartheid?

  1. Em says:

    Fair dues to you! It is actually so much more of a statement than not buying books there in the first place! I love it!
    There’s nothing like buying in indie bookstores. There is actually a bookstore called Chapters in Dublin, but it is an indie. The name is quite misleading though…

  2. Julie says:

    What I would give for a good used book store to trade in some of our old books. I am sad to hear about Chapters but not devestated since I hardly buy new books at all anymore and the only bookstore anywhere near us is a Coles.
    Way to go standing up for something you believe in!

    • Robbie says:

      Thanks Julie!! What miffs me the most is how Chapters owns all the book chains in Canada pretty well. Cole and Smithbooks all belong to them. Oh well, I suppose Indie is always the best way to go anyway!!

  3. John says:

    re: to your old post. When I was in Victoria a few months back I had talked to those protesters as well. I don’t shop there for the same reason.

Leave a Reply

