The Feast of the Goat – Mario Vargas Llosa – Book Review

The Feast of the Goat by Mario Vargas Llosa, copyright 2000.

Translated by: Edith Grossman

Publisher: Picador

Pages: 404

Source: Personal Collection – Purchased New

Reason for Reading: Reputation of Author

Vargas Llosa is the most recent addition to the Nobel club, having won the prestigious prize last year. He is also my most recent stop in my attempt to traverse the entire list of literary laureates. The Feast of the Goat was a little tough to get into; this can be attributed partially to the fact that the story is told from so many perspectives, but most of all because there are just too many characters of which to keep track. Perhaps not everyone would find this plethora of characters such a hassle to keep tabs on, but I tend to have great difficulty in keeping Spanish names in my brain.

In 1961, the Dominican Republic languishes under the iron fist of the meticulous, brutal and adroit Rafael Trujillo. Feeling the sting of OAS sanctions and under threat of invasion from both Cuba and the United States, Dominicans struggle to maintain their loyalty and love for El Benefactor. Parked on the highway to San Cristobal, cradling their guns in their arms and fighting off fatigue, seven men wait for the 1957 sky-blue Chevy Bel-Air, that will carry the goat to his late-night rendezvous with one of a string of young Dominican girls. The seven men have a different sort of rendezvous planned for the aging dictator. Here, in the dark, in the middle of San Cristobal Avenue, they will assassinate the Father of the Nation. Each man has a different reason for doing what they are about to do, some will do it out of hate, others out of love, but all will do it for the sake of the Dominican Republic.

In the beginning, this was a very frustrating read. For the first half or three-quarters of the novel, the chapters alternate consecutively between the perspectives of Urania Cabral, a young lady whose relevance to the story does not become apparent until the end of the book; Rafael Trujillo; and, sequentially, each of the seven would-be-assassins. At some point all of these perspectives disappear and the story begins to be told chapter-after-chapter, by different people, all of whom were involved in the plot to assassinate Trujillo.

If this sounds really convoluted, that’s because it is. Make no mistake, I had to pay close attention, especially in the beginning, to really get a handle on what was taking place. I am not a fan of stories being told from different perspectives, even when it is only two or three, so you can imagine how I felt reading this. But, in some crazy way, it really worked. I came out of this story feeling that I had a genuine understanding of the emotional and psychological warfare that was the foundation of this period in Dominican history. There is no doubt that I missed a great deal; a re-read would definitely be required to soak up everything that The Feast of the Goat was attempting to convey.

If you read the synopsis and were excited, and you can handle dense historical reads that might take a little longer than normal to get through, then don’t be put off by the peculiar format. You will take a great deal away from Vargas Llosa’s masterpiece.

RATING: A Wool New Kind of Read

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Feast of the Goat – Mario Vargas Llosa – Book Review

  1. I’m planning to read Feast of the Goat in February. The Author Themes group at LibraryThing had chosen Llosa as the 2011 author to read. So, I’m hoping to read several books by him this year.

  2. Caitie F says:

    I read this a couple months ago, but had many problems with it, the first being that there are much better books written about the regime. This book could have used a LOT of editing, like editing 100 pages out. The same stories kept getting repeated without telling you anything (aka the Mirabel sisters).I also thought there should have been a hint as to what happened to the present stories character earlier on. I didn’t care about her until her last two chapters because there was never a reason to care.

    I had to read a lot of Trujillo regime novels in a class, and am very glad we didn’t have to read this one

  3. amymckie says:

    Hmm… this does sound very confusing but I really get that you say it worked. I think I’ll have to try it for myself at some point!

  4. I’m planning to read this soon so haven’t read all your review, but I hope I gain as much as you did from reading it.

  5. winstonsdad says:

    I love Llhosa recently read another of his this is in my tbr pile somewhere ,Grossman is the best latin american translator without a doubt I ve loved all her translations I ve read ,all the best stu

  6. The book I’m reading now “The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao” by Junot Diaz name-checks The Feast of the Goat – talk about coincidence. Re Edith Grossman, one of my friends on LibraryThing read a book she wrote talking about the field of translations, “Why Translation Matters”. He highly recommended it.

  7. Pingback: Understanding Mario Vargas Llosa Understanding

Leave a Reply

