Weekend Wreading Writuals

It’s been a tough slog, but my partner and I have finally finished our new place in Yellowknife! I insisted on the largest room being reserved for my books and so, behold, our new library…

OK, OK, fine, you got me, it’s not REALLY my library! A guy can dream can’t he? But what this IS, is the most beautiful library I have ever seen! It is the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, the largest library of its kind in the world, at Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut. The library was opened in 1963 and, among other things, has one of the only twenty-one complete Gutenberg Bibles remaining in the world.

The library was featured this week on one of my favorite real estate blogs, Buzz Buzz Home, along with several other prominent celebrity libraries. Take a look at Buzz’s original post to get a look at libraries belonging to Oprah Winfrey, Woody Allen and others. I expected Oprah to have a bigger library, but really it just looks like she fills her shelves with Reader’s Digest collections. What’s with that?

Sigh!! I just keep telling myself everyday, ‘One day Robbie, one day you too will have a beautiful, behemoth bibliothèque of your own.

Enjoy your weekend everyone!

About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend Wreading Writuals

  1. winstonsdad says:

    lovely photo ,hope your settling in well ,all the best stu

  2. Lesley Anita Burns says:

    Keep the dream Rob love the library. Must check out the other libraries. Love Me:)

Leave a Reply

