A Note To My Kid

I didn’t have the balls to make a video for the It Gets Better Project. As I sit here now thinking about it, I feel a sense of shame about that. (I’m crying right now thinking about it) As a gay man I have a responsibility to make one; I have a responsibility to let young people everywhere know that it’s ok to be gay and that no matter how tough life is for them right now, it won’t stay that way. I feel that by not having made a video I’ve let those people down. I don’t think that the Project is accepting videos anymore, but I am going to make one and post it on Youtube…I’ve got to! I’ll let you know when it’s done!

Anyway, that wasn’t what I was planning on saying. I wanted to bring another website to your attention. aNoteToMyKid.com was started by Patrick Wallace and is similar to It Gets Better. A Note To My Kids is a place for parents of LGBT and questioning youth (and former youth too apparently) to post notes and letters to their kids letting them know how much they are loved and accepted. As the website says, it is a platform for unconditional love. This is, to me, even more fantastic than It Gets Better, because it is parents that kids need to hear the message from. The written format also makes it more likely that parents will take part; it’s far easier to write a letter than to create a video.

Please parents…if you have kids, don’t wait until they come out, don’t wait until you start to suspect they might be gay, just tell them!! Tell them you love them, tell them you love them for who they are, tell them you love no matter who they love, but, whatever you do, tell them now!!

And please EVERYONE, check out the website and tell all the parents you know about it!!





About Robbie

Hi there, my name is Robbie Burns (no,really, that’s my name…hold the haggis jokes please) and I would like to welcome you to the Pink Sheep Cafe. I started this blog as a means of discussing books and all things literary in light of my perpetual isolation. At the time I began writing, I was living in Split, Croatia. There wasn’t much here in the way of English book clubs and I couldn’t work, so I badly needed something to help me bide my time. My partner and I have since left Croatia and returned to Canada to live in Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories. When we first moved back here, my blog writing sort of fell by the wayside, but now I seem to be back on track. I try to read and review a little bit of everything here; I think everyone can find something to their liking here. I find myself tending more towards more literary reads these days, but I also enjoy a lot of YA and children’s fiction. One of my ongoing goals is to work my way through all of the Nobel Laureates. My two most favorite authors are Timothy Findley and Halldor Laxness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Note To My Kid

  1. amymckie says:

    Thanks for sharing that site, sounds fantastic and I’m definitely off to check it out. Also, I don’t think you have to feel bad, if it’s something you aren’t comfortable with and can’t do then that is fine I think, as you seem to be promoting LGBTQ rights in other ways, ya know. You’re still doing your part!

  2. Lesley Anita Burns says:

    I Love you Rob. We Love you Rob. A fantastic site to pass on to parents. Looking forward to seeing your youtube video.

  3. Leeswammes says:

    Hi Robbie, thanks for sharing. I agree, it’s so important to tell your kids it’s ok to be gay. My sons are 14 and 12 now. For years already, in conversations about the future I say “When you’ve got a girlfriend or boyfriend then… “. They always look at me like, yeah Mum, we’ll have boyfriends, ha ha, no way! But at least they know it’s an option I consider, it’s not something that I would never accept.

    My aunt avoided contact with another aunt of mine because that second aunt, her sister (and my favorite aunt), was a lesbian. So, I was very pleased to hear that aunt number one ended up with a lesbian daughter herself. Not nice of me, but didn’t she deserve it? And find out lesbians are people too?

    • Robbie says:

      That’s hilarious Judith!! I hope having a gay daughter helped to open your Aunt’s eyes. I often wish the same sort of “justice” upon close-minded friends!

  4. Julie says:

    Welcome back Robbie. I have missed you! I will check out the site 🙂

Leave a Reply

